Click here to skip navigation
An official website of the United States Government.

Frequently Asked Questions Senior Executive Service

What are the rating levels and what are they called?

The basic system description uses a five-level rating system:  Level 5 – Outstanding, Level 4 – Exceeds Fully Successful, Level 3 – Fully Successful, Level 2 – Minimally Satisfactory and Level 1 – Unsatisfactory.  Agencies may use agency-specific labels, which they must include in their additions to the basic system description.

Control Panel

Unexpected Error

There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.