Click here to skip navigation
An official website of the United States Government.

Frequently Asked Questions Pay & Leave

What categories of employees may receive a retention incentive?

Agencies may pay a retention incentive to a current employee in the following categories of positions: General Schedule (GS); senior-level and scientific or professional (SL/ST); Senior Executive Service (SES); Federal Bureau of Investigation and Drug Enforcement Administration (FBI/DEA) SES; law enforcement officer (LEO); Executive Schedule (EX); prevailing rate (wage) positions; and positions in a category for which payment of retention incentives has been approved by OPM at the request of the head of an executive agency. (See 5 CFR 575.303 and 575.315(b)(1).)

Control Panel

Unexpected Error

There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.