



The Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 established the Presidential Rank Awards Program to recognize a select group of career members of the Senior Executive Service (SES) for exceptional performance over an extended period of time. Later, the Rank Award statute was amended to extend eligibility to senior career employees with a sustained record of exceptional professional, technical, and/or scientific achievement recognized on a national or international level.

*This is not a comprehensive list and only includes winners agreeing to public recognition, as of December 15, 2015.

DISTINGUISHED EXECUTIVE WINNERS

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF

DEFENSE

Charles A. Allen Shay D. Assad David W. Duma Teresa A. McKay Allen W. Middleton Steven R. Miller Alan R. Shaffer

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Robert F. Corbin Jack R. Craig, Jr. Gregory K. Delwiche Steven C. Erhart Dennis M. Miotla

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

AGENCY Walter E. Mugdan Elizabeth Southerland

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES

Jane A. Axelrad Patrick H. Conway

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND

SECURITY

Thomas D. Homan Kevin K. McAleenan Connie L. Patrick

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE

Michael A. Gill Richard K. Hartley Marilyn M. Thomas

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

John B. Nerger Craig Robert Schmauder Robert E. Slockbower

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY

John D. Burrow

(Distinguished Executive Winners Continued)

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

James Kurth Margaret N. Schneider

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Lisa M. Phelan

SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

Nancy A. Berryhill

DEPARTMENT OF STATE

James E. Buchanan Richard C. Visek

NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE

ADMINISTRATION

William H. Gerstenmaier Richard J. Gilbrech

NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION

Scott G. Borg

NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY

BOARD

Sharon Bryson

DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY

Rochelle F. Granat

UNITED STATES AGENCY FOR

INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Susan Keller Pascocello

MERITORIOUS EXECUTIVE WINNERS

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Jeff Moulton

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

Christy A. Slamowitz

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Holly A. Bamford Bruce M. Kisliuk

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF

DEFENSE

Amanda J. Dory Michael S. Elliott Stephanie Paige Hinkle-Bowles James M. McClaugherty Peter J. Potochney Mary M. Snavely-Dixon Steven K. Walker Keith B. Webster Jonathan R. Witter

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE

James F. Geurts Joseph M. McDade, Jr. Ricky Lincoln Peters Caral E. Spangler* John S. Wilcox John A. Wilcox

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Peter B. Bechtel Bruce A. Busler Gwendolyn R. DeFilippi Stuart A. Hazlett David M. Markowitz Dean E. Pfoltzer

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY

Mark D. Andress Julie A. Christodoulou Terry S. Duncan Alfred Hector Gonzalez, Jr. Mark W. Honecker Scott W. Lutterloh James F. McCarthy Daniel Nega Nidak A. Sumrean

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Tracey Bishop Kathleen B. Hogan Joseph A. McBrearty Sunita Satyapal Thomas G. Vavoso Thomas Williams**

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

AGENCY

Richard A. Wayland

FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION

David C. Shonka

GENERAL SERVICES ADMINISTRATION

Mary A. Davie

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES

William M. McCabe Thomas F. Morris Nancy B. O'Connor Michael Tartakovsky Daniel G. Wheeland Donald J. Wright

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND

SECURITY

Vernon T. Foret Robert L. Harris John F. Havranek Joseph D. Moore Gary C. Rasicot Joanna Ruppel

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND SECURITY OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR

GENERAL

Anne L. Richards

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND

URBAN DEVELOPMENT

Stanley A. Gimont

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

Robyn Thorson

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

David F. Musel

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Gary A. Steinberg

** Nominee's current agency is the Department of Labor, Office of Inspector General; however, the Department of Energy submitted the nomination and is the agency of record for the PRA.

NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE

ADMINISTRATION

Gregory Blaney Michael J. Bolger Jeri L. Buchholz Stephen F. Cash George B. Finelli Bradley C. Flick Robert N. Jacobs Mark A. Kirasich Ajay Kumar Misra David F. Mitchell Amanda M. Mitskevich

NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND RECORDS

ADMINISTRATION

Sheryl Jasielum Shenberger

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Scott C. Flanders Kriss M. Kennedy

OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND

BUDGET

Andrew D. Abrams

SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

Gale S. Stone

DEPARMENT OF STATE

Lawrence E. Bartlett Cecilia M. Coates Philip A. Foley Kathleen H. Hooke Philippe A. Lussier Suzanne M. McCormick Katherine D. McManus Mary T. Mitchell Jaime E. Salcedo

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Julie Abraham Anthony T. Furst

DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY

Cheri Dolores Mitchell David J. Monroe Richard Weber

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL

Linda Anne Halliday

DISTINGUISHED SENIOR PROFESSIONAL WINNERS

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

John M. Butler Jun Ye

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Peter J. Reynolds

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE

Janet S. Fender

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Judith A. Hagley

MERITORIOUS SENIOR PROFESSIONAL WINNERS

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Joseph A. Stroscio

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF

DEFENSE

James G. Van Ness

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE

Robert E. Peterkin Steven K. Rogers Gregory G. Spanjers

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Jaques Reifman

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY

Phillip Sprangle

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

AGENCY

Joel D. Scheraga

NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE

ADMINISTRATION

Nancy J. Currie Murzban D. Jhabvala