2017 PRESIDENTIAL RANK AWARDS WINNERS*



The Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 established the Presidential Rank Awards Program to recognize a select group of career members of the Senior Executive Service (SES) for exceptional performance over an extended period of time. Later, the Rank Award statute was amended to extend eligibility to senior career employees with a sustained record of exceptional professional, technical, and/or scientific achievement recognized on a national or international level.

*This is not a comprehensive list and only includes winners agreeing to public recognition, as of December 15, 2017

DISTINGUISHED EXECUTIVE WINNERS

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Jere L. Dick

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Fiona M. Alexander Richard L. Merrick Sivaraj Shyam-Sunder

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF

DEFENSE

Richard P. Burke Terry A. Halvorsen Theresa M. Whelan

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE

Randall G. Walden Patricia M. Young

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Kirby R. Brown Elizabeth C. Fleming Kathleen S. Miller

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY

Gerald M. Borsuk Anne M. Brennan Jodi J. Greene Bryan H. Wood

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Kimberly Lebak Troy Mueller

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES

Dara A. Corrigan Betsy L. Humphreys Elizabeth Richter James D. Seligman

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND

SECURITY

Annmarie R. Highsmith Brenda B. Smith (Distinguished Executive Winners Continued)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Robert J. Moossy

NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE

ADMINISTRATION

Dawn M. Schaible

Kirk A. Shireman

Joan A. Singer

NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION SAFETY

BOARD

Dana L. Schulze

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

Michael J. Frueh Ronald E. Walters Robert M. Worley II

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Matthew S. Borman Richard R. Cavanagh Nancy A. Potok Carole Ann Showers

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE

Charles Douglas Ebersole Dana M. Peterson Steven D. Wert

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Stephen G. Barth Joseph P. Bentz Pamela I. Blechinger Joseph L. Corriveau Michael D. Formica Susan J. Goodyear Ellen M. Helmerson Gerald R. Hust William P. Marriott Thomas P. Russell John L. Shipley Robin P. Swan Bryon J. Young

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF

DEFENSE

Anita F. Bales John M. Bier E. Yisroel Brumer Laura M. Desimone Lernes J. Hebert John D. Hill Anthony C. Hullinger William J. Kenny James A. Macstravic Frederick D. Moorefield, Jr. Nancy L. Spruill William H. Thresher David Tillotson III Thomas S. Troyano James A. Worm

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY

Karen L. Fenstermacher Steven R. Iselin Craig D. Jensen George Ka'iliwai III James E. Kenny William S. Knoll Cindy R. Shaver Charles P. Werchado Robert L. Wolborsky Donald S. Young David J. Horowitz Karen Jackson George G. Mills, Jr. Jean D. Moody-Williams Jenny Parker Patrick A. Shirdon

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Lorraine Bodi Steven Chalk Kelly Cummins Joanna Livengood Elmer Naples Todd Shrader William White

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

AGENCY Andrew Sawyers Walker B. Smith

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES Paolo Del Vecchio Elizabeth Hayes Dickinson Camille M. Hoover

Kathleen Bolle O'Sullivan Megan L. Worstell

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND

SECURITY Angela S. Bailey Kathy A. Baran Ellen G. Engleman Conners Marcus L. Hill George D. Mulligan, Jr. Todd Owen Raymond R. Parmer, Jr. Daniel H. Ragsdale

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND URBAN DEVELOPMENT

Towanda A. Brooks

(Meritorious Executive Winners Continued)

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Michael D. Granston Karen M. Wardzinski

OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND

BUDGET Melissa B. Bomberger

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

Patricia W. Silvey

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL

MANAGEMENT Mark D. Reinhold

NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE

ADMINISTRATION

Dennis J. Andrucyk David E. Bowles Nancy P. Bray Steven W. Clarke Vicki K. Crisp Robert J. Devlin James M. Free Robyn N. Gordon Dennis Hines David A. LeDoux Kelvin M. Manning

SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

Stephen G. Evangelistar

DEPARMENT OF STATE

Catherine W. Brown Lisa Julieta Grosh Nancy Izzo Jackson Jeffrey D. Kovar Brenda Saunders Sprague James A. Walsh

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

Keith E. Washington

NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION

Michael C. Sieverts

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Scott W. Moore

(Meritorious Executive Winners Continued)

DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY

Karen Linda Freeman Sharon C. James Terry Lemons Leonard R. Olijar Jeffrey J. Schramek Drita Tonuzi DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY TAX ADMINISTRATION OFFICE OF THE INSPECTOR GENERAL Gregory D. Kutz

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS

Martina Parauda Robert D. Snyder

DISTINGUISHED SENIOR PROFESSIONAL WINNERS

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Sae Woo Nam

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF

DEFENSE

John A. Casciotti

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Bruce J. West

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION

AGENCY

Gerald Ankley

MERITORIOUS SENIOR PROFESSIONAL WINNERS

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Cyril G. Gay Jerry Lee Hatfield

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Samuel P. Benz

DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAND

SECURITY Stephen J. Dennis

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

Ovie L. Carroll

DEPARTMENT OF THE AIR FORCE

Kenneth W. Barker

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

Connie S. Schmaljohn

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND

HUMAN SERVICES

Alexander I. Rosenthal

NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE

ADMINISTRATION

Compton J. Tucker

UNITED STATES AGENCY FOR INTERNATIONAL DEVELOPMENT

Donald F. Gressett