Click here to skip navigation
This website uses features which update page content based on user actions. If you are using assistive technology to view web content, please ensure your settings allow for the page content to update after initial load (this is sometimes called "forms mode"). Additionally, if you are using assistive technology and would like to be notified of items via alert boxes, please follow this link to enable alert boxes for your session profile.
An official website of the United States Government.
Skip Navigation

In This Section

    Frequently Asked Questions::Can one agency subcomponent use two summary levels and others use three or more (up...

    Can one agency subcomponent use two summary levels and others use three or more (up to five)?

    A. Yes. So long as the applicable agency performance appraisal system provides for it, subcomponent programs may use any pattern of summary levels permitted by regulation. The Office of Personnel Management cautions agencies and their subcomponents to ensure that their applicable performance appraisal programs explicitly state the pattern used, including their numeric rating-level designators and equivalent terms.

    The summary level patterns allowed by regulation are:

    Pattern Summary Level
      1 2 3 4 5
    A X   X    
    B X   X   X
    C X   X X  
    D X X X    
    E X   X X X
    F X X X   X
    G X X X X  
    H X X X X X

    Unexpected Error

    There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

    Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.