Click here to skip navigation
This website uses features which update page content based on user actions. If you are using assistive technology to view web content, please ensure your settings allow for the page content to update after initial load (this is sometimes called "forms mode"). Additionally, if you are using assistive technology and would like to be notified of items via alert boxes, please follow this link to enable alert boxes for your session profile.
An official website of the United States Government.
Skip Navigation

In This Section

    Frequently Asked Questions::Must an agency assign a summary level?

    Must an agency assign a summary level?

    Yes. When the rating of record is completed at the end of the appraisal period, a summary level must be assigned. The principal reason for this requirement is that several other personnel systems and actions rely on the rating of record as a trigger or threshold (e.g., granting within-grade increases, noncompetitive promotions) or as an otherwise necessary input (e.g., for granting additional service credit in a reduction in force (RIF)). Agencies may use between two (Levels 1 and 3) and five (Levels 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5) summary levels, or a specified combination in between, as permitted by the agency's performance appraisal system and specified in the applicable appraisal program.

    Unexpected Error

    There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

    Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.