Click here to skip navigation
An official website of the United States Government.

Frequently Asked Questions Senior Executive Service

What are the 3 types of Qualifications Review Board (QRB) cases?

Criterion A cases are based on demonstrated executive experience. Candidates must demonstrate that they have experience/competence in all 5 ECQs.

Criterion B cases are based on successful participation in an OPM approved SES Candidate Development Program (SESCDP). Candidates who compete governmentwide and successfully complete a CDP are eligible for non-competitive appointment to the SES. (However, successful completion does not guarantee placement in the SES.)

Criterion C cases are based on the candidate's having special or unique qualities that indicate a likelihood of success in the SES. Candidates must demonstrate that they have the qualifications for the position and the potential to quickly acquire full competence in the 5 ECQs. The package submitted for QRB approval must contain the agency's assessment of why the selectee uniquely qualifies for the position, and an Individual Development Plan that focuses on the specific ECQs that need to be enhanced.

Control Panel

Unexpected Error

There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.