Click here to skip navigation
An official website of the United States Government.

Frequently Asked Questions Performance Management

Under an appraisal program with two summary levels (Pass/Fail), can an agency establish some criteria other than, or in addition to, the Level 3 (Fully Successful or equivalent, e.g., pass) rating of record for achieving an acceptable level of competence?

No. Governmentwide regulations require a rating of record of at least Level 3 (Fully Successful or equivalent) as the basis for the acceptable level of competence determination. There is no provision to consider anything other than the rating of record.

Control Panel

Unexpected Error

There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.