Click here to skip navigation
An official website of the United States Government -

Frequently Asked Questions Veterans

What are the different preference groups?

Preference eligibles are divided into five basic groups as follows:

  1. CPS - Disability rating of 30% or more (10 points)
  2. CP - Disability rating of at least 10% but less than 30% (10 points)
  3. XP - Disability rating less than 10% (10 points)
  4. TP - Preference eligibles with no disability rating (5 points)
  5. SSP - Sole Survivorship Preference (0 points)
These codes are used to designate on rating sheets and certificates the category of veterans’ preference to which an applicant is entitled.

Control Panel

Unexpected Error

There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.