Skip to page navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites. / About Us / Reports & Publications / Agency Plans / Strategic Plan / Appendix 2: Stakeholder Interviews

Appendix 2: Stakeholder Interviews

To help inform the development of this plan, OPM interviewed 30 internal stakeholders and 58 external stakeholders representing 36 organizations, including the Office of Management and Budget, the U.S. Government Accountability Office, the U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board, good government groups, employee resource groups, unions, and academics, soliciting their feedback on OPM’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and challenges, as well as potential areas of research focus for OPM. In addition, OPM conducted three focus groups – two with members of the CHCO Council and one with representatives of OPM employee resource groups.  

External Stakeholders

Below is a list of the external stakeholders OPM interviewed to inform development of this strategic plan:


  • Donald Kettl, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin


Office of Management and Budget (OMB)

  • Dustin Brown, Deputy Assistant Director
  • Ben Skidmore, Senior Program Examiner
  • Kristy Daphnis, Lead for Governmentwide Personnel Policy
  • Robert Seidner, Performance Manager
  • Megan Dreher, Performance Manager

Governmental Accountability Office (GAO)

  • Michelle Rosenberg, Acting Director, Strategic Issues
  • Steven Lozano, Assistant Director, Strategic Issues
  • Leah Nash, Assistant Director, Strategic Issues
  • Shea Bader, Assistant Director, Strategic Issues

U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board

  • Bill Spencer, Acting Executive
  • Tristan Leavitt, General Counsel; Acting Chief Administrative Officer
  • DeeAnn Batten, Performance Improvement Officer
  • James Tsugawa, Deputy Director, Policy and Evaluation

Research Organizations and Non-Profits

Partnership for Public Service

  • Max Stier, President and CEO
  • Katie Malague, Vice President, Government Effectiveness

Labor Unions and Employee Associations

National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association (NARFE)

  • Ken Thomas, National President
  • Jessica Klement, Staff Vice President for Policy and Programs

National Association of Hispanic Federal Executives

  • Al Galllegos, Chair
  • Tim Paz

National Treasury Employees Union (NTEU)

  • Tony Reardon, President
  • Kata Sybenga, Legal Director

Society of American Indian Government Employees (SAIGE)

  • Fredricka Joseph, Chair

American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE)

  • Jacqueline Simon, Policy Director
  • Marlo Bryant-Cunningham, President, Local AFGE (No. 32) Union

Blacks in Government (BIG)

  • Shirley Ann Jones, National President
  • LaShan Haynes, National Protocol Member
  • Marie Perry, Public Relations Co-chair

Executive Women in Government

  • Katherine Coffman, President
  • Deborah Leben, Member
  • Kristen DeLashmutt, Member
  • Sandy Wells, Member

Federal Asian Pacific American Council (FAPAC)

  • Peter Nguyen, Chair

Pride in Federal Service

  • Anthony Musa, Chair
  • Mahri Monson, Past Chair

Senior Executive Association (SEA)

  • Bob Corsi, President

Internal Stakeholders

Below is a list of the internal stakeholders OPM interviewed to inform development of this strategic plan:

  • Laurie Bodenheimer, Director, Healthcare & Insurance
  • Reginald Brown, Principal Deputy Associate Director, Human Resources Solutions
  • Mario Bryant-Cunningham, President, AFGE Local 32
  • Chris Canning, Former Chief of Staff
  • Guy Cavallo, Chief Information Officer
  • Dennis Coleman, Chief Management Officer
  • Margot Conrad, Senior Advisor to the Director and Executive Director of the CHCO Council
  • Tim Curry, Deputy Associate Director, Employee Services, Accountability & Workforce Relations
  • Laura Goulding, Deputy Director, Communications (Press and Policy), Office of Communications
  • Kimberly Holden, Deputy Associate Director, Employee Services, Talent Acquisition & Workforce Shaping
  • Mark Lambert, Associate Director, Merit System Accountability & Compliance
  • Lisa Loss, Director, Suitability Executive Agent
  • David Marsh, Deputy Chief of Staff
  • Clare Martorana, Former Chief Information Officer
  • Kathleen McGettigan, Senior Advisor to the Director (formerly Acting Director)
  • Melody Nordquist, President, AFGE Local (No. 2450 - Boyers) Union
  • Kellie Cosgrove Riley, Chief Privacy Officer and Director, Office of Privacy and Information Management
  • Brenda Roberts, Deputy Associate Director, Employee Services, Pay and Leave
  • Robert Shriver, Associate Director, Employee Services
  • Katherine Sickbert, Senior Advisor to the Chief Information Officer (on detail from CFPB)
  • Scott Syroka, Deputy Director, Office of Communications
  • Mini Timmaraju, Senior Advisor to the Director
  • Shelby Wagenseller, Press Secretary
  • Kathie Ann Whipple, Deputy General Counsel
  • Allison Wise, Program Director, Employee Services, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • Kenneth Zawodny, Former Associate Director, Retirement Services

Focus Groups

Below is the list of participants in the two Chief Human Capital Officer Council focus groups:

  • Angela (Angie) Bailey, Department of Homeland Security
  • Priscilla W. Clark, Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Blair Duncan, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Jane Datta, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Traci DiMartini, General Services Administration
  • Bonnie Doyle, Social Security Administration
  • Allen Frank, Social Security Administration
  • Wonzie Gardner, National Science Foundation
  • Arthur (Art) Gary, Department of Justice
  • Colleen Heller-Stein, Department of Treasury
  • Elias Hernandez, Small Business Administration
  • Lynnann Hitchens, Environmental Protection Agency
  • Mark Lamary, Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Ray Limon, Department of the Interior
  • Phil Lussier, State Department
  • Jamesa Moone, Small Agency Human Resources Council; EOP, White House Trade Office
  • Mary Pletcher Rice, United States Department of Agriculture
  • Tyshawn Thomas, Office of Personnel Management
  • Sherry Van Sloun, Intelligence Community
  • Ophelia A. Vicks, United States Department of Veterans Affairs
  • George Waldman, Department of Energy
  • Lisa Williams, Department of Transportation

Below is a list of participants in the OPM Employee Resource Group focus group:

  • Christina Frye, IMPACT (Women’s Group)
  • Carmen Garcia, Pride Alliance (LGBTQ+ Group)
  • Yadira Cuadrado-Arroyo, Adelante (Hispanic Group)
  • Sean Hershey, Diversity Program Manager, Equal Employment Opportunity
  • Marilyn Wiley, Alakai (Group to cultivate an innovative, collaborative, and transparent work environment)
Control Panel