Click here to skip navigation
An official website of the United States Government.

Healthcare Enrollment

List of States That Authorize Same Sex Marriage

If an enrollee lives in one of the jurisdictions listed below, he or she may NOT cover the child of a same-sex domestic partner as a stepchild under FEHB or FEDVIP under this regulation.

Rather, enrollees living in states listed below who wish to cover the child of their same-sex domestic partner on their FEHB or FEDVIP enrollment must be legally married to their same-sex domestic partner (i.e., the child’s other parent).

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
Control Panel