Click here to skip navigation
An official website of the United States Government.

Frequently Asked Questions USAJOBS

How do I know what Grades I qualify for?

The following are general rules:

  • One can qualify for jobs at the GS-2 level with a high school diploma or as little as 3-months of general work experience. At GS-3 and GS-4 grade levels, more months of general experience is required. Starting at the GS-5 grade level, jobs generally require 1 year of specialized experience to qualify which may include specific job-related work experience, education, medical or physical standards, training, security, and/or licensure.
  • A degree but no specialized experience in a career field, makes one eligible for appointment at the GS-5 grade level. If you maintained at least a B average; were in the upper third of your college, university or major subdivision; or are a member of a national scholastic honor society recognized by the Association of College Honors Societies, you can start out at the GS-7 grade level.)
  • To qualify for jobs at the GS-7 and higher grade levels, background must include experience closely related to the work to be performed in the job for which you are applying.
  • One can qualify for GS-9 positions on the basis of a master’s degree, and for GS-11 positions on the basis of a doctorate.

For more information on Qualifications, please visit

Control Panel

Unexpected Error

There was an unexpected error when performing your action.

Your error has been logged and the appropriate people notified. You may close this message and try your command again, perhaps after refreshing the page. If you continue to experience issues, please notify the site administrator.