Skip to page navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites. / Policy / Classification & Qualifications / General Schedule Qualification Standards
Skip to main content

Information Technology (IT) Management Series 2210 (Alternative B)

Information Technology (IT) Management Series, 2210 (Alternative B)

Q & A's Available

Individual Occupational Requirements

GS-5 and GS-7 (or equivalent): Use this qualification standard for any position at the GS-5 or GS-7 (or equivalent) level, if the position does not require IT-related education or IT-related experience upon entry. Use the Information Technology Management Series, 2210 (Alternative A) qualification standard if the GS-5 or GS-7 (or equivalent) level position requires IT-related education and/or IT-related experience upon entry.


This standard does not cover Information Technology Management positions at GS-9 and above (or equivalent). You must use the Information Technology Management Series, 2210 (Alternative A) qualification standard.

Basic Requirements


All academic degrees and coursework must be from accredited or pre-accredited institutions.

Level Education
GS-5 (or equivalent) Bachelor's degree in any field
GS-7 (or equivalent) 1 full year of graduate level education
superior academic achievement

Education must demonstrate the competencies/knowledge, skills, and abilities necessary to do the work.



Experience may be demonstrated by paid or unpaid experience and/or completion of specific, intensive training (for example, certification), as appropriate.

Back to Top

GS-5 and GS-7 (or equivalent):

For all positions, individuals must demonstrate they have experience in each of the four competencies listed below; the experience does not have to be IT-related. The employing agency is responsible for identifying the specific level of proficiency required for each competency at each grade level based on the requirements of the position being filled.

  1. Attention to Detail - Is thorough when performing work and conscientious about attending to detail.
  2. Customer Service - Works with clients and customers (that is, any individuals who use or receive the services or products that your work unit produces, including the general public, individuals who work in the agency, other agencies, or organizations outside the Government) to assess their needs, provide information or assistance, resolve their problems, or satisfy their expectations; knows about available products and services; is committed to providing quality products and services.
  3. Oral Communication - Expresses information (for example, ideas or facts) to individuals or groups effectively, taking into account the audience and nature of the information (for example, technical, sensitive, controversial); makes clear and convincing oral presentations; listens to others, attends to nonverbal cues, and responds appropriately.
  4. Problem Solving - Identifies problems; determines accuracy and relevance of information; uses sound judgment to generate and evaluate alternatives, and to make recommendations.


Specialized Experience for GS-7 (or equivalent):

Positions at GS-7 (or equivalent) require one year of specialized experience at the next lower GS-grade (or equivalent). Specialized experience is experience that has equipped the applicant with the particular competencies/knowledge, skills, and abilities to successfully perform the duties of the position and is typically in or related to the work of the position to be filled. The employing agency is responsible for defining the specialized experience based on the requirements of the position being filled.

Back to Top

Control Panel