Skip to page navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites. / Policy / Senior Executive Service / Presidential Rank Awards
Skip to main content

Department of the Air Force

Presidential Rank Awards

Department of the Air Force

Marilyn M. Thomas
AGENCY SPOTLIGHT: Distinguished Executive
Marilyn M. Thomas
Deputy Chief Management Officer, Office of the Under Secretary of the Air Force
Marilyn Thomas is responsible for improving the effectiveness and efficiency of business operations. Ms. Thomas also serves as the Director of Business Transformation and oversees implementation of continuous process improvement initiatives.

Distinguished Executive

  • Michael A. Gill
    Air Force Materiel Command Executive Director
    Michael A. Gill advises the commander in managing the delivery/support of agile, war-winning capabilities through leading-edge S&T, life cycle management, T&E, and supply chain management.
  • Richard K. Hartley
    Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Installations, Environment and Energy)
    Mr. Hartley is responsible for the formulation and execution of plans, policies, programs and budgets to meet installation, energy, environment, safety and occupational health objectives.

Meritorious Executive

  • Ricky L. Peters
    Air Force Research Laboratory Executive Director
    Ricky L. Peters partners with the AFRL Commander, managing a $5B portfolio, and delivering science and technology breakthroughs for the warfighter.
  • John S. Wilcox
    Air Force Research Laboratory Munitions Director
    Dr. John S. Wilcox leads the discovery, development and integration of affordable warfighting conventional air-launched weapon technologies for the U.S. Air Force.
  • Joseph McDade
    Air Force Principal Deputy General Counsel
    Mr. McDade provides oversight and direction regarding Air Force legal matters. He has served for over 10 years in a variety of DoD SES positions.
  • Caral Spangler
    Deputy for Budget, Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Financial Management and Comptroller
    Ms. Spangler has served as an SES in all 4 Services and OSD. She is the Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army (FM&C). (Ms. Spangler’s current agency is Department of the Army.)
  • James F. Geurts
    Acquisition Executive, United States Special Operations Command
    A career acquisition leader, Mr. Geurts is responsible for the research, development, acquisition, procurement and logistics for all United States Special Operations Forces.
  • John A. Wilcox
    J6/Chief Information Officer, United States Special Operations Command
    A career communicator, Mr Wilcox is responsible for IT Strategy, network operations, and the C4 acquisition program for all United States Special Operations Forces.

Distinguished Senior Professional

  • Janet S. Fender, PhD
    Chief Scientist, USAF Air Combat Command
    Dr. Janet S. Fender is Chief Scientist, USAF Air Combat Command. AF Research Laboratory positions included Chief Scientist Space Vehicles and Senior Scientist Directed Energy/Imaging.

Meritorious Senior Professional

  • Steven K. Rogers
    Air Force Senior Scientist for Automatic Target Recognition and Sensor Fusion
    Dr. Steven Rogers pioneered efforts advancing machine intelligence for AF data-to-knowledge challenges, to defeat terrorist networks and cyber attacks.
  • Robert E. Peterkin
    Air Force Chief Scientist for Directed Energy
    Dr. Robert E. Peterkin, is responsible for all AF research and development of high energy lasers, high power microwaves/dense plasmas, and advanced optical technologies.
  • Gregory G. Spanjers
    Chief Scientist, Space Vehicles Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory
    Dr Spanjers is Chief Scientist for the Air Force Research Laboratory Space Vehicles Directorate and Capability Lead for S&T investments in both Space Superiority and Nuclear Deterrence.

Note: This is not a comprehensive list and only includes winners agreeing to public recognition, as of December 15, 2015.

Control Panel