Skip to page navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites. / Policy / Senior Executive Service / Presidential Rank Awards
Skip to main content

Department of the Navy

Presidential Rank Awards

Department of the Navy

John D. Burrow
AGENCY SPOTLIGHT: Distinguished Executive
John D. Burrow
Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy (Research, Development, Test and Evaluation)
Dr. Burrow has more than 30 years of Federal Service as an acquisition professional, systems engineer and technical leader. Dr. Burrow is responsible for executive oversight of all matters related to RDT&E Budget Activities, Science and Engineering, Advanced Research and Development, Prototyping and Experimentation, and Test and Evaluation.

Meritorious Executive

  • Mark D. Andress
    Assistant Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Information Dominance, Chief of Naval Operations
    Mr. Andress serves as the Assistant Deputy Chief of Naval Operations (N2/N6B) overseeing the Navy's cyber, intelligence and information centric programs and policies.
  • Julie A. Christodoulou
    Director, Naval Materials Science and Technology, Office of Naval Research
    Dr. Christodoulou directs the Navy's materials research and development program, partnering with national and international colleagues in government, industry and academia to assure high performance systems for defense.
  • Terry S. Duncan
    Executive Director, Program Executive Office for Space Systems, Space and Naval Warfare Systems
    Mr. Duncan is responsible for acquisition, operations, and maintenance of satellite communications, global terrestrial network systems, and information technology for the NRO.
  • Alfred Gonzalez Jr.
    Director, Personnel Allocation and Development (N1), U.S. Fleet Forces Command
    Alfred Gonzalez Jr., is the Director for Personnel Development and Allocation and principal personnel advisor to the Commander, U.S. Fleet Forces Command.
  • Mark William Honecker
    Executive Director, U.S. Fleet Forces Command
    Mr. Honecker is responsible for fleet readiness, global force management, and maritime homeland defense.
  • Scott W. Lutterloh
    Acting Assistant Secretary of the Navy, Manpower and Reserve Affairs
    Mr. Lutterloh is responsible for matters pertaining to manpower and personnel policy within the Department of the Navy (DoN), including issues affecting Active and Reserve Component Sailors and Marines, and DoN civilians.
  • James F. McCarthy, Jr.
    Assistant Deputy Chief of Naval Operations, Integration of Capabilities and Resources, Office of the Chief of Naval Operations
    Mr. McCarthy is an ardent visionary and powerhouse behind Navy's budget and programming during fiscal constraint realizing $55B in cost efficiencies. Simultaneously directed Rapid Technology Insertion to Warfighter.
  • Daniel L. Nega
    Director, Cost Estimating and Analysis, Naval Air Systems Command
    Mr. Daniel Nega leads the Naval Air Systems Command Cost Department. He serves as the Navy’s authority on naval aviation cost estimating and analysis.
  • Nidak A. Sumrean
    Executive Director of the Program Executive Office (PEO), Littoral Combat Ships (LCS)
    Mr. Sumrean is the senior civilian official responsible for the daily operations of the PEO and manages an annual budget of $2.9B.

Meritorious Senior Professional

  • Phillip Sprangle
    Senior Scientist for Directed Energy Physics, Naval Research Laboratory
    In addition to his position at DoN, Dr. Sprangle is also a Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Physics, University of Maryland. He is responsible for initiating, leading and conducts basic research in a diversified range of theoretical and experimental areas developing proof-of-concept systems for DoD.

Note: This is not a comprehensive list and only includes winners agreeing to public recognition, as of December 15, 2015.

Control Panel