Skip to page navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites. / Policy / Classification & Qualifications / General Schedule Qualification Standards
Skip to main content

Optometrist Series 0662

Optometry Series, 0662

Individual Occupational Requirements

Basic Requirements


Applicants must have a Doctor of Optometry degree from an educational program that is accredited by the Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) at the time the degree was obtained.


Applicants must have received a passing score on the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) examinations and possess a current, full, and unrestricted license to practice optometry in a State, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or a territory of the United States.

Basic Requirements for the GS-11 (or equivalent) Grade Level

Applicants who meet the above basic requirements qualify for GS-11 grade level.

Basic Requirements for GS-12 (or equivalent) Grade Level

In addition to the requirements for the GS-11 (or equivalent) level, applicants must meet one of the following requirements:

  • One year completion of a residency program in an institution accredited for such training; or
  • One year of professional experience as an optometrist that is equivalent to at least the GS-11 grade level.

Basic Requirements for GS-13 and above Grade Levels

In addition to the requirements for the GS-12 (or equivalent) level one year of professional optometrist experience equivalent to at least the next lower grade level.

Control Panel