Skip to page navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites. / Policy / Senior Executive Service / Presidential Rank Awards
Skip to main content

Department of Homeland Security

Presidential Rank Awards

Department of Homeland Security

Connie L. Patrick
AGENCY SPOTLIGHT: Distinguished Executive
Connie L. Patrick
Director, Federal Law Enforcement Training Center
Connie Patrick is the fifth Director of the Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers, where she oversees training for 96 federal agencies and thousands of state, local, and international law enforcement personnel annually. Prior to her arrival at FLETC, she completed a distinguished 20-year law enforcement career in Florida.

Distinguished Executive

  • Thomas D. Homan
    Executive Associate Director, Enforcement and Removal Operations, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement
    A 32 year law enforcement veteran, Mr. Homan has been instrumental in leading ERO at a time of extraordinary challenges, and unprecedented achievements.
  • Kevin K. McAleenan
    Deputy Commissioner, U.S. Customs and Border Protection
    Mr. McAleenan spearheaded CBP’s counterterrorism discipline, transformed the international air arrival process, and designed a strategy for continuous innovation, adequate resourcing, and public-private partnerships.

Meritorious Executive

  • John C. Havranek
    Associate General Counsel for the Operations and Enforcement Law Division in the Office of General Counsel (OGC)
    John leads a team of attorneys who provide broad legal advice regarding national security matters, international law, enforcement matters, counter-terrorism, and DHS emergency operations.
  • Gary C. Rasicot
    Director of Marine Transportation System Management, U.S. Coast Guard
    Mr. Rasicot directs a wide variety of navigation safety/security functions including Waterways Management, Aids to Navigation, Domestic/Polar Ice Operations, Bridges, and Marine Planning.
  • Joanna Ruppel
    Chief of International Operations in the Refugee, Asylum and International Operations Directorate at U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
    Ms. Ruppel’s accomplishments are marked by her commitment to serving the world’s most vulnerable populations and building a culture of organizational excellence.
  • Joseph D. Moore
    Chief Financial Officer for U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
    Mr. Moore designed and implemented a National Quality Management Program Plan that has become the blueprint for infusing quality into agency operations.
  • Vernon T. Foret
    Director, Field Operations (Miami); U.S. Customs and Border Protection
    Mr. Foret enhanced international law enforcement by providing support that resulted in the interdiction of drugs, currency, and individuals using fraudulent travel documents.
  • Robert L. Harris
    Commander, CBP South Texas Campaign and Chief Patrol Agent, Laredo Sector; U.S. Customs and Border Protection
    Mr. Harris established a Unified Command in South Texas to conduct integrated counter-network operations against transnational criminal organizations to improve border security and safety.

Note: This is not a comprehensive list and only includes winners agreeing to public recognition, as of December 15, 2015.

Control Panel