Skip to page navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites. / Policy / Classification & Qualifications / General Schedule Qualification Standards
Skip to main content

Social Services Series 0187

Social Services Series, 0187

Individual Occupational Requirements


Undergraduate Education: Successful completion of a full 4-year course of study in any field leading to a bachelor's degree, in an accredited college or university, is qualifying for GS-5 level positions.

Graduate Education: Major study -- social sciences. One full academic year of graduate study is qualifying for GS-7. Graduate education is not creditable for positions above the GS-7 level.


Equivalent combinations of education and experience are also qualifying for grade levels for which both education and experience are acceptable.



General Experience (for GS-5 positions): Three years of general experience, 1 year of which was equivalent to at least GS-4, is qualifying for GS-5 level positions. General experience is work in a social services activity or other organization that required the ability to conduct interviews; to collect and analyze pertinent facts; to provide needed information, advice, and practical assistance; and to prepare clear concise personal histories and factual reports.

Specialized Experience (for positions above GS-5): One year of specialized experience equivalent to at least the next lower level in the normal line of progression is qualifying for positions above the GS-5 level. Specialized experience is experience in a program of direct social welfare services that required the application of program policy and operations knowledge in providing social welfare services and/or assisting social workers.

Test Requirements

Refer to the Test Requirements Section for information.

Control Panel