Skip Primary Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Skip Secondary Navigation

In This Section

Policy, Data, Oversight Classification & Qualifications

Consumer Safety Inspection Series, 1862

Individual Occupational Requirements

Specialized Experience (for positions at GS-4 and above):

Experience that provided knowledge of the properties and characteristics of the regulated commodities and substances in the position to be filled, skill in applying proper techniques for collecting samples and performing field tests and examinations, skill in reporting both orally and in writing, and skill in maintaining effective personal contacts. Such experience may have been acquired in work such as consumer safety inspector or inspection aid, food inspector, public health inspector, or quality inspection specialist.


Education and Training:

For GS-4:

Successful completion of 2 years of study that included at least 12 semester hours in any combination of courses such as those in the agricultural, biological, or physical sciences, food technology, epidemiology, home economics, pharmacy, engineering, or nutrition.

For GS-5:

Successful completion of a full 4-year course of study leading to a bachelor's degree with major study or at least 24 semester hours in any combination of courses in subjects such as those shown above for GS-4.

Control Panel